Meet the Governors | St Martin's C of E VA Primary School
Home Page

Holbeck Hill, Scarborough, North Yorkshire, YO11 3BW

Meet the Governors

Welcome to the Governors' section of the St. Martin's Website.


As the current Chair of the Governing Body of St Martin’s C.E. (Aided) Primary School I would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to the governors’ section of the school website.


Our  Governing Body consists of a diverse group of volunteers who share a common faith and a mutual desire to support the school and all members of the school community. We are proud of the level of involvement we have within the school.

The meetings that we have with the Senior Management team and other members of staff are important, but so are the meetings and other contact that we have with the pupils on the School Council, parents and representatives of the Diocese and Local Authority.  Governors have three core functions:


1.   Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of our School;


2. Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of our School and the performance management of staff; and


3. Overseeing the financial performance of our School and making sure its money is well spent and well managed.


To state these funcitions is much easier than the practice of them!  We deal with every aspect under the roof - and the roof as well!  We do this through meeting as a full board  eight times times a year (four such meetings are solely dedicated to curriculum matters), and also through  three separate sub-commitees dealing with finance, personnel, and premises matters. The three sub-commitees meet at least three times each year -  and sometimes more, depending on the nature of the business to be conducted in any one academic year.  We try to place governors with the relevant skills on the relevant committees and we all undertake governor training in accordance with our roles.  It is a very busy board and we visit school regularly  - which enables us to feel a welcome part of life at St Martin's   You can see the list of current governors and theircommittee membership below. 


We have an active Link Governor programme, each of us spending time with teachers and pupils involved in a particular priority curriculum area. We also take part in the numerous extra-curricular activities that the children in the school enjoy, helping out on school visits, at school productions and taking part in the spiritual life of the school


We enjoy a good relationship with the Friends of St.Martin's  (FOSMS)to whom we are always grateful because they invaluably assist us in finding the  the funds which, as Voluntary Aided School, we need to contribute towards particular capital projects.


The Vice Chairman, Jim Tingay, and I are always happy to hear from anyone with a stake in the school and we can be contacted by leaving a message with the school office. We are also happy to arrange to meet with parents to discuss aspects of school management should that be necessary.


I hope that this brief introduction to the Governing Body explains to you a little of what we do and I hope that you might feel able to talk to any of us about governance matters and perhaps even join us!


Jayne Fountain

Chair of Governors

How to contact the Governors


The Chair of Governors, Mrs Jayne Fountain and the Clerk to the Governors, Mr. Mick Prince, can be contacted through the School’s office.


Please call 01723 360239.

Meeting dates for the Governing Body and Committees


The Full Governing Body and the regular Committees meet throughout the year. The dates for those meetings in the current academic year are listed below.

Dates                                                                                                                                                                             Meeting of Committee

6.30pm on:   6th February 2018                                                                                    Admissions   
7pm on :       26th September  2017,   5th December 2017,    27th March 2018,       10th July 2018  Full Governing Body                
6.30pm on:  14th September 2017,    7th November 2017,   30th January 2018,    24th April 2018 Curriculum
8pm on :       21st November 2017,  13th March 2018           6.30pm on:  26th June 2018 Premises
6.30pm on : 21st November 2017,  13th March 2018           ​​​​​8.00pm on:  26th June 2018 Finance
6.30pm on:  23rd November 2017,   15th March 2018,         28th June 2018



*How to become a Governor


If you are interested in knowing more about serving as a governor of St Martin's please contact Jayne Fountain, the Chair of Governors through school on 01723 360 239 or send an email for her attention to


You can also find further helpful information on school governance generally by visiting the following websites:


National Governance Association


Diocese of York                        schools


North Yorkshire County  Council governors


Department of Education         


For a more detailed explanation of the role and obligations of school governors you might like read the Department of Education publications "Governance Handbook" and "Competency framework for governance" , which are regularly updated. They can be easily found by searching the respective title name on the website. 

Governors Code of Conduct & Nolan Principles of Public Life

As well as complying with its statutory requirements, our Governing Body has chosen to adopt successive editions of the National Governance Association Code of Conduct (without amendment) and to abide by the seven Nolan Principles of Public Life as set out in that code. The code provides part of a framework for excellence in governance by clearly setting out the expectations on and commitment required from every serving governor, thereby enabling the Governing Body to properly carry out its work within school community and the wider community beyond.

St Martin's Governors: Who's who?

Our Governors: Their roles and standing committee membership

​​​​​​In October 2017 we reconstituted our Governing Body to reduce the number of seats on the board from 18 to 14. Following that the composition of the board appears below with individual committee responsibilities shown. In addition to the meetings of the Full Governing Body, all governors are required to attend the curriculum committee as members, which reflects the importance of this committee to the core function of governance.


Staff Ex officio: Alison Stephenson (Headteacher) - member of all committees

Parent: Jim Tingay (Vice Chair) - Premises, Personnel, Pay, Curriculum , Headteacher Performance

Parent: Anne Brand - Curriculum, Premises, Admissions

Local Authority: Ann Midgley - Finance, Personnel, Pay, Admissions, Headteacher Performance

Staff: - Sally Hick - Curriculum

Co-opted: Guy  Baumann - Curriculum

Foundation (Deanery): Mike Colbeck - Finance, Curriculum

Foundation (Deanery): Andy Duncan - Curriculum, Admissions

Foundation (Deanery): Jayne Fountain  (Chair) - Finance, Personnel, Premises, Pay, Curriculum, Headteacher Performance

Foundation (Deanery): James Crick - Curriculum, Finance

Foundation (Ex officio): Fr David Dixon  - Curriculum, Admissions

Foundation (PCC): Louise Hanks - Curriculum, Personnel, Pay

Foundation (PCC): Greg Booth - Curriculum

Foundation (PCC): VACANT


Associate (non-voting): Richard Hodgson - Premises only, (not FGB)


Current Link Governor Roles  - academic year 2017-2018


Note: A name in brackets shows a previous nominee within the current academic year.


English   - James Crick      (Jayne Fountain)

Maths   -  Jayne Fountain   (Mike Colbeck)

PE       -  Greg Booth        (Jayne Fountain)

SEND    - Guy Baumann

EYFS     - Anne Brand

PSCHE   - Ann Midgley

RE       - Fr. David Dixon

Pupil Premium - James Crick

Governor Training- Andy Duncan

Child Protection & Safeguarding - Jayne Fountain